Criminal Traffic Citations
When you are charged with a traffic offense, and issued a citation, you may initially think it is not as serious as it is. However, charges like hit and run, reckless driving, driving without insurance, or driving on a suspended license are criminal offenses, that can result in fines, license loss, a permanent criminal record, and even jail time.
If you were arrested and handcuffed, then you know you have a serious legal problem. But if you were just issued a ticket for a criminal traffic citation and let go, the charges are no less serious.
Please give me a call find out how I can help fight and beat charges in Kansas like Hit & Run, Driving without Insurance, Driving on a Suspended License, Reckless Driving, or any other traffic offense. My experience in Kansas City traffic and criminal courts will allow me to quickly assess your case, and tell you what I think is likely to happen to you, and how I can help you try to get the best possible deal. Whether that is a dismissal, or a reduction in charges, we can talk about all the options you have in a free consultation.
Successful Criminal Traffic Defense
I know how these cases can affect you and also understand your case is likely causing you a lot of stress. Having handled numerous traffic cases in Johnson County and surrounding areas, I know the system and can help you get through it.
I have defended many clients for traffic violations and criminal offenses, and had excellent results. From getting charges dropped to negotiating deals with the prosecutor, we can apply the best possible approach to your case to get you the most positive results possible.
There are many traffic offenses that we handle, below are just a few and their potential penalties.
Kansas Hit & Run Laws & Penalties
When involved in an accident it is your responsibility to stop your vehicle as soon as possible and assist any injured parties while waiting for law enforcement and emergency crews (if needed). When you fail to stop, you can be charged with a hit and run offense. The charge you face and the potential penalty depend on the result of the accident.
Property Damage Only: If the accident did not result in any injury to people and instead just damaged property, you will face a Class C misdemeanor charge and a potential one month in jail with $500 in fines.
Ref: KSA 8-1603
Injury: If the accident resulted in a basic injury, your charge will be elevated to a Class A misdemeanor which carries a potential year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Great Bodily Harm: If someone is seriously injured in the accident, the charge is a Level 10 felony which carries a sentence of 5-13 months in prison.
Death: If the accident you flee from ends in the death of another person, you will be charged with a Level 9 felony and 5-17 months in prison.
Ref: KSA 8-1602
With any hit and run charge your license will also be suspended immediately.
Reckless Driving – Laws & Penalties
If the court finds you were operating your vehicle in a way that showed “willful or wanton disregard” for the safety of people or property you will be charged with reckless driving. Reckless driving is a misdemeanor that carries a potential sentence of 5 to 90 days in jail and fines of $25 to $500.
Fighting a Reckless Driving Offense
In many cases like this it is your word against the arresting officer’s report. And the law is very subjective about what driving behavior constitutes reckless driving. Although these can be tricky cases, my experience and track record can be very helpful.
Many people charged with a Kansas reckless driving offense are mad at the officer, and want to call him or her a liar, or claim the officer is out to get them. This is not usually a good legal defense tactic. Judges and juries tend to believe officers are telling the truth under most circumstances.
A better tactic is often to suggest that the officer was making a judgment call that another person might disagree with. We can talk about all the things you didn’t do, or other actions that establish that overall you were driving safely and carefully. With that, and reasonable doubt on our side, we often have a good chance to beat a reckless driving charge.
Ref: KSA 8-1566
Driving without Insurance
If you are driving a vehicle, it must be insured. If your auto insurance lapses or expires, you will be charged with a crime. It many not be your fault – there could be a paperwork mixup, or a problem caused by your insurance agent, or a missed form after a change or address.
Whatever happened, driving without insurance is a criminal offense in the state of Kansas. Even if it is an honest mistake, or a mistake that is someone else’s fault, it can take some legal wrangling to get your situation resolved in the courts. And The risk of being found guilty can result in a permanent criminal record, additional license loss, and more. This charge is not something you can take lightly.
If you are caught without the minimum liability insurance you could be facing a Class B misdemeanor which carries a potential jail sentence of up to 6 months and fines from $300 to $1,000.
If, however, this is your second or greater driving without insurance charge in the past 3 years, you face Class A misdemeanor charges and a potential 1 year jail sentence with fines from $800 to $2,500.
Ref: KSA 40-3104
Arrested, or Given a Citation for a Criminal Traffic Offense in Kansas?
Traffic cases are something I handle regularly, so I know exactly what you are up against, and what it takes to beat these charges. I know the ins and outs of Kansas traffic laws and how to work with you to get the best possible result for your particular situation. Call me today to discuss your case. Whether you are facing one of the charges above or a different traffic charge, I can help. Call me for a free consultation on your case.