DUI

Charged with a First Offense Kansas DUI ?

Have you been arrested for Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and are now facing criminal prosecution in the Kansas court system. If this a  first offense DUI charge, you probably never imagined you would ever find yourself arrested and accused of being a criminal.  I understand that you may be very stressed and even frightened of the prospects of a criminal record. I’ve worked with hundreds of people in your exact situation.

Criminal Charge in Kansas City? Call Attorney, Mark Hagen at (913) 871-1007.
call_now

At a difficult time like this, you need an experienced local attorney on your side, who knows the system and the players in the Kansas City area criminal justice system, including Johnston County and surrounding area courts.

What exactly is a DUI under Kansas Law?

You can be charged with DUI if:

  1. You have a blood alcohol level over .08%, or
  2. You are suspected to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs and it has impaired your ability to operate the vehicle safely.

If you don’t think you were impaired or don’t believe that the BAC result is correct, then we should discuss the opportunities there may be to directly challenge that evidence.

What Should I Do Next?

More than likely, you immediately lost your driver’s license at the time of your arrest. If so, your time is limited. You only have 10 days to challenge this suspension in an Administrative Hearing. Call me immediately so we can start these proceedings right away to fight to save your driver’s license.

Successful DUI Defense Cases

I have been working in the Kansas City area courts to defend clients against charges like these for years. I know the players in the local court rooms and how the system works.

I know that any slip ups in procedural rules by the police may give us a way to beat your DUI charges. I can challenge the legality of the stop or potentially the reliability of the breath test. There is a good chance I can help you work out a deal with only serving probation.

Many of my former clients qualified for a DUI diversion program where your case is dismissed after successfully completing a period of probation. I can help you determine if your case may qualify for this program.

Potential Kansas DUI Penalties

Because this is your first DUI, your penalties won’t be as harsh. This doesn’t mean DUI charges are a walk in the park, they aren’t. They can mean a permanent mark on your record and no one looks forward to something like that.

If convicted of DUI first offense you face potential penalties of:

  • 2 days to 6 months in jail or 100 hours of community service
  • Alcohol and Drug Education program
  • Fines ranging from $500- $1,000
  • 30 driver’s license suspension and additional 330 day restriction
  • Potential vehicle impoundment
  • Required 1 year use of an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, when your license is reinstated. (IID law in effect as of July 2011)

Ref: KSA 8-1567

Free Legal Advice on Your Kansas DUI Charge

It is absolutely possible to beat a 1st time DUI charge in Kansas. I will do everything I can to ensure you are pleased with the results you get in court. As your attorney it would be my duty to ensure I did everything possible to help you.

Call me for a free consultation on your case today. We can discuss the night of the arrest and look at the evidence against you. Together we can formulate a concrete plan to ensure you are ready to go when your court date arrives.