When your driver’s license gets suspended, your life keeps on going. You have to figure out how to get to work, appointments, and how to get around without the luxury of driving; that can be very difficult. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended in Kansas, however, you will likely be under even more stress.
We take our driving privilege for granted and often don’t realize how important it is to our daily life until we are forced to deal without it. Your initial suspension could have came about for a wide variety of reasons.
In Kansas, your license can be suspended for any of the following:
- Leaving the scene of an accident (Hit & Run)
- Driving without insurance
- Failure to pay fines
- Failure to appear
- Reckless driving
- Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer
Because Kansas has no provisions for hardship licenses or work permits it makes a suspension particularly difficult. No matter the reason for your suspension, you cannot drive and that takes some serious getting used to.
Successful Defenses of A Suspended License Charge in Kansas
Having worked in the local courts for years, I have handled many cases involving driving under suspension. I have represented clients in Johnson County as well as surrounding areas for charges like these.
While no two cases are the same it would be my job as your attorney to see you get the best possible results on your day in court. I have seen clients avoid mandatory jail time and even get to hold onto their license when permanent revocation was a likely possibility.
I can help and want to hear about the specifics of your case. Together we can get you through this tough period and see that you walk away with your dignity (and hopefully your driver’s license) intact.
Potential Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License in Kansas
If you are caught driving on a suspended license, you will face further criminal prosecution. The charge you face depends on if you have been convicted of driving on a suspended license before.
If this is a first offense, you will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor and serve a potential 6 months in jail. Your suspension will likely be increased an additional 90 days as well.
If this is your second driving under suspension charge, you will be charged with a Class A misdemeanor which carries a potential 1 year jail term and $2,500 fines. Again, your suspension will likely be extended as well.
Ref: KSA 8-262
I didn’t even know my license was suspended!
Unfortunately, whether you were aware of it or not, you can still face these charges for driving on a suspended license. This does happen occasionally but sadly does not automatically get you out of the criminal charges. Whether they screwed up the paperwork, sent it to an old address, or simply neglected to inform you, we would have to convince the court that your charges should be dropped.
How likely is it I will be caught driving on a suspended license?
As technology grows more and more advanced it becomes much easier for police to identify vehicles that should not be on the road. Video scanners that read your license plate and automatically trigger an instant, real-time notification to the police can spot your vehicle on the road when your license is suspended.
The fact is, it is extremely common for people to get caught driving if there license is suspended. With these automated plate scanners, just driving down the road and being scanned matched in the RMV database with a vehicle owner with a license under suspension can get you stopped, arrested, and put in jail.
Although it is extremely tempting to get behind the wheel when your license is suspended, the odds are against you.
Once you have been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license, you should immediately get in touch with a local attorney with experience in these types of cases. I am eager to discuss this case with you. Call me today for a free consultation.